Mounting a Watercolor Style Painting on Hardboard

I like to paint on watercolor paper with acrylic but I don’t like to frame them behind glass. To me the reflection and glare on the glass makes it difficult to view the artwork.

reflect

So I discovered this technique for mounting my paintings  on 1/4-inch hardboard using Golden acrylic gel medium.

board1

I quickly wiped the surface of my hardboard with a damp cloth.  Then I applied the gel.

golden

I placed the painting on the prepared hardboard.

stick

Then rolled with a rolling pin to secure it.  I laid another piece of hardboard over it and put weight on top of that to press it evenly and left it  overnight.

roll

Here’s the finished painting in a frame that I made without glass.

blog021

2 thoughts on “Mounting a Watercolor Style Painting on Hardboard

Leave a Reply

